The One Book Meme

I got challenged by Saara, and gladly accept.

1. One book that changed your life
Both Saara and Ben, her husband, have mentioned the Sci-fi trilogy of C.S. Lewis in their posts on the One book meme, so I hope they don’t take this the wrong way, but my answer is: The sci-fi trilogy by C.S. Lewis. Especially the last book, That Hideous Strength. Amazing. After these books, my christian world view seemed like a more balanced perspective than before. Ben said it best, so I will just bluntly quote him: ”a masterly well done combination of fact, fiction and spirit.”

2. One book that you have read more than once
Well, there a plenty of those around, but to mention a few: The Trial (Kafka), The Lord of the Rings (Tolkien), The Cossacks (Tolstoy), Naiv. Super. (Loe).

3. One book you’d want on a desert island
The Complete Works of Shakespeare… NOT! Oh my, he’s so boring (Oh no! A literary heretic! Blasphemy!). I don’t know… I think I’m gonna go for the Moomin series by Tove Jansson.
4. One book that made you laugh
The Castle, by Franz Kafka. I love the subtle and absurd humour!

5. One book that made you cry
Oh my, that’s a difficult one. I don’t know if there has ever been one, apart from the Bible.

6. One book that you wish had been written
Sigh— I don’t know. Tough question. I think everything’s been written about. All we can do is copy, steal intertexts and say they are ours. Or humbly admit to the truth. Haha. No, I’m not that pessimistic, but I have no answer to this question.

7. One book that you wish had never been written
The Lord of the Rings. This seems like a big self-contradiction, I know, but hear me out… The book itself is great, but the spinoff fantasy crap that followed, that now fills meters and meters of valuable shelf space… I hate it! In my opinion, fantasy lived and died with Tolkien.

8. One Book that you’re currently reading
Master and Margarita by Michail Bulgakov. (To those of you that speak swedish, I have to tell a funny thing that happened when Benjamin asked me who wrote the book I was reading one day, which was this one. ”Michail Bulgakov”, I said. Benjamin wanted to say after me and see if he could pronounce the name, so he said ”Mikail Bull-kakor”, hahaha! So funny! Sorry to you english speaking bloggers, but it really is funny in swedish.)

9. One book you’ve been meaning to read
Dostoevsky’s Crime and Punishment. Maybe after Bulgakov.

10. Now tag five people
Ariel Vanderhorst, Jimmy Pulli, Nathan Creitz, Christian Rosenlund, Daniel Rosenlund.

Technorati tags » , , , , , , , ,
del.icio.us tags » , , , , , , ,


About this entry