von Kleist, Eco, Njarðvík and Söderberg

I bought some new books last week when I visited some bookstores and flea markets in Mariehamn, the capital of the Åland Islands that lie between Finland and Sweden.

The new books were Michael Kohlhaas by Heinrich von Kleist, The Name of the Rose by Umberto Eco, Doomed by Njörður P. Njarðvík and Doktor Glas by Hjalmar Söderberg. I guess they can all be considered to be classics, and I’ve already read two of them. But they arr worth reading again.

If you like fictive books that deal with politics, society, bureaucracy, then Michael Kohlhaas is your choice. It’s an old german long short story that is guaranteed to find appreciation even in this day when authors are stars and celebrities. Doktor Glas, oh well, a great novel by a great author. Nuff said.

Umberto Eco, haven’t read his novel, but in a test I did on the internet, where you could see what classic book you would be, it turned out that I would certainly be The Name of The Rose were I to be a book. So I’m gonna read it and see if I like it. I suspect I will.

And then Njarðvík. Well. He’s from Iceland. Nuff said.

Technorati tags » , , , , , ,
del.icio.us tags » , , , , , ,

About this entry